California Council Approves $400 Fine for Not Wearing a Mask

Masks

Masks

Glendale, California is getting tough on people who refused to wear protective face coverings. The City Council has approved a $400 fine for people caught bare-faced in public.

The fine applies only to first-time offenders. A person caught without a face mask a second time will be hit with a $1,000 fine, in accordance with the law. A third offense will set them back a whopping $2,000.

The law excludes children under 2 years old, people with breathing problems and anyone who can't put on or remove a face mask without assistance.

Announcing the fine on Twitter, the Glendale City Council posted, "Don't be a turd, protect the herd. Wear your face covering."

Photo: Getty Images

630 KHOW · Denver's Talk Station

Listen Now on iHeartRadio

outbrain pixel